



European System of Central Banks

Research Cluster 2

International Macroeconomics, Fiscal Policy, Labour Economics, Competitiveness and EMU Governance

Call for Papers

Ninth Annual Workshop

Dublin, 23-24 October 2025

We are pleased to announce the Ninth Annual Workshop of the ESCB Research Cluster 2, to be held at the **Central Bank of Ireland in Dublin, on 23-24 October 2025.**

Research Cluster 2 focuses on issues related to international macroeconomics, fiscal policy, labour economics, competitiveness, and EMU governance. The Annual Workshop seeks to foster awareness and collaboration in research initiatives across institutions, and so submissions will be considered over a wide range of topics. Both theoretical and empirical contributions are welcome. The workshop is open to European System of Central Banks (ESCB) and Bank of England (BoE) researchers only.

Keynote speakers will be Swati Dhingra (LSE and Bank of England) and Gianmaria Milesi Ferretti (Brookings Institution).

Relevant topics include, but are not restricted to:

- · Impact of tariffs, instability, and input shortages on growth and the geography of economic activity
- International capital flows
- Sovereign risk and private debt in a high debt environment
- Micro and macro productivity dynamics and determinants
- The future of work: challenges and opportunities from technological advances
- Business dynamism, competition and productivity, and the role of policy and legislation
- The future of the EMU governance, reforms and challenges to EMU deepening

Submissions

ESCB and BoE authors are invited to submit a draft paper or extended abstract, in PDF format, by **2 June 2025**, to researchcluster2@centralbank.ie. Please submit papers not yet accepted for publication.

ESCB and BoE researchers are welcome to express interest in participating in the workshop as discussants or observers, whether or not you are submitting a paper.

Organisers

Enrico Mallucci (Central Bank of Ireland) and Federico Cingano (Banca d'Italia)

Scientific Committee

Henrique Basso (Banco de España), Federico Cingano (Banca d'Italia), Beatriz González (Banco de España), Christoph Grosse Steffen (Banque de France), Enrico Mallucci (Central Bank of Ireland), Kostas Mavromatis (De Nederlandsche Bank), Jaanika Meriküll (Eesti Pank), Hannah Paule-Paludkiewicz (Bundesbank), Sophie Piton (Bank of England), Dominik Thaler (ECB), Alejandro Van der Ghote (ECB) and Riccardo Zago (Banque de France).